Return to ForumsReply to Thread
Offensive language in the work office

Has anyone ever come across an 'angry' person at work that uses vulgar language when they are upset that others perhaps are not doing their job or angry when they are frustrated. In this case, this person is over me. Well, I suppose everyone is when we are Admin. :) I find myself surprised when this person periodically dumps their complaints to me and their face becomes red. I actually become quite concerned for their health and blood pressure. I don't understand why they come to me other than I'm an Admin person and won't repeat anything. I'm not perfect - but I find it offensive to hear it said to me. It is not an everyday word in a professional setting. I try to get him to settle down and I talk calmly. I elicit my help in solving anything I can as an Admin person. But I don't like to listen to the "f" word in sentences over and over.

Submitted by: Alias

ReplyPosted By
I, too, do not like the ?F? word in the workplace or otherwise. It is vulgar and crass. I don?t know if this is your boss or not, but you probably need to be a little direct about it. For example, maybe you could say something like, ?I do not like the use of the ?F? word and feel it is totally unacceptable in the workplace and it is offensive. I can listen to you better and help better if you can find another effective way to express yourself.? The executives in the organization where I work would never dream of using that word in the workplace or to a subordinate. I am sorry you have to endure this. Debbie on 8/10/2016 2:24:52 PM