Return to ForumsReply to Thread
Micromanaging Boss

I am an executive assistant to a high ranking VP in our winery. I have over 24 years experience in what I do and I have been working with my boss for over 3 1/2 years now. I have a good reputation in both our department and the winery in general, get good performance reviews and I believe I have proven myself over and over. My boss, however, writes down every single thing he asks me to do and then expects follow-up on everything. This includes such things as whether or not, and when, I have shipped an engraved decanter to an employee in Australia who was here for meetings recently but couldn't take it with him because he was on vacation for the 3 weeks after that. Have you ever worked with a boss like this, and how do you convince him that what he does is counterproductive? I am extremely frustrated at this point. Thank you.

Submitted by: Angeliki De Morgan

ReplyPosted By
I’ve worked for a boss just like yours and there is no way you are going to change him. Or convince him it is counterproductive. You have to change your mind set or else find someone else to work for. People like these are micromanagers and they have a fear something is going to slip past them or that you are not doing your job correctly. If you like your job, start making spreadsheets and charts and give him what he wants and don’t take it personally because these types of people don’t even realize they are micromanaging. I know your frustration, you can only change yourself and your attitude, you’ll never change his I’m sorry to say. I finally ended up quitting only to be hired back 4 months later to work for VP of Operations who give me the freedom to do my job the way I see fit. Anonymous on 8/26/2008 12:19:12 PM