Return to ForumsReply to Thread
Seasoned Admin Assistant changing to Exec Assistant

I've been an admin for many years, and want to apply for exec assistant positions. Two skills that are required are event/meeting/travel planning and calendar management. There are no opportunities at my present job or employer to acquire these skills. Is there any other way these can be learned, ie. books etc?

Submitted by: Rose

ReplyPosted By
There is some great advice here! But, I'll go ahead and add some of mine. If you are interested in books on the subject of executive assistants in general, do a search at Barnes and Noble (Executive Assistants in the Book area). Travel arrangements have become much easier now with the advent of all the travel sites: Expedia, Travelocity, etc. Take some time and "book" some fake trips on one of them. You don't have to go all the way to the payment portion. You can do the same on any of the airline sites too. You can learn by doing. This way, if you are asked about your familiarity with travel arrangements, you can honestly say you are familiar with doing it. You can do the same with hotel sites. Learn by doing. You can always ask a potential boss how he prefers his travel to be arranged. Does he upgrade? Does he prefer a certain airline? You get the idea. After you have the questions addressed, you can go back and do some more training keeping those requirements in mind. Besides your general experience as an admin, the best thing you have going for you is your interest in learning how to become an EA. That's a real plus and will make you stand out. Good luck! styler8599 on 9/30/2011 12:32:37 PM